donate button 47


Ozaukee Washington Land Trust Brings New Community Leadership to Board of Directors

The board of directors of the Ozaukee Washington Land Trust (OWLT) has elected a new slate of executive leadership for the upcoming year, with community leader Marjie Tomter as President.

Tomter, a retired educator and administrator has served on OWLT’s board since 2011 and been a member since 1995.

“We’re thrilled to have the leadership of Marjie Tomter as President,” said Tom Stolp, Ozaukee Washington Land Trust Executive Director. “Marjie is one of those proven community connectors and is truly representative of the conservation ethic held by our supporters and the land owners we work with across the community.”

Marjie Tomter Marjie Tomter, newly elected President of Ozaukee Washington Land Trust

“I love being part of the Ozaukee Washington Land Trust and look forward to this opportunity to lead.  I believe that even with the tremendous number of issues facing our community and nation, protecting our land and our water at the local level is essential and underlies everything else.”

Tomter fills a position held since 2012 by Attorney, Dan Dineen who continues to serve on the board and as legal counsel to the land trust. Dineen’s presidential term represents the longest tenure in the land trust’s 25-year history. Under his guidance the land trust has placed more than 6600 acres of sensitive lands under protection and maintains thirty preserves, open to the public, across Ozaukee and Washington Counties.

Joining Marjie Tomter as the officers of Ozaukee Washington Land Trust are:

Vice President: Cheryl Brickman, Mequon

Secretary: John Capelle, West Bend

Treasurer: Rick Fox, Cedarburg

West Bend Attorney James Danaher was approved as a new board member joining volunteer leaders: Brenda Bowers, Janet Ehn, Pat Marchese (Mequon), Brett Vuyk, Mike Nast, (West Bend), Shannon Buending (Kewaskum), Frank Volpintesta (Hartford), and Manish Gupta (Grafton).

Board member Chris Ford of Newburg, concluded his service to the land trust after three years of dedicated leadership, providing vision and support to OWLT’s Great Rivers, Great Lakes campaign to protect 2,000 acres of sensitive lands and waters in the Milwaukee River Watershed and along Lake Michigan.

The transition in leadership marks the end of an era at the land trust, as long-time board member John Torinus concludes his last term. For twenty of the land trust’s twenty-five years, either John or spouse, Caroline “Kine” Torinus have served on the board, with Kine leading for four years at President.

“Ozaukee and Washington Counties would not have anywhere near the level of land and water conservation success without John and Kine Torinus championing our cause across the region,” said Tom Stolp. Added Stolp, “That’s not flattery, it’s fact. John and Kine had the winning idea in 1998 that Washington County should join the already established Ozaukee Land Trust.”


Add a comment

Together, We Can Make a Difference!


Spring 2017

Dear Katie,

Each spring brings heightened enthusiasm and anticipation at Ozaukee Washington Land Trust. Our staff is busy making preparations for the field season. This year we will have thirty preserves to oversee and protect.

Our organization has stewardship plans in place, but we need you to assist in making them succeed. The protection and restoration of the land and the waterways that run through these preserves is our passion and mission. We have a busy schedule that includes invasive plant removal, planting 20,000 trees and wildlife habitat restoration.

One of our most rewarding initiatives is the involvement of our youth as caretakers of the land. It is very successful in developing environmentally aware young people. This program helps them to see the need and take the responsibility for the natural resources on which we all depend for health and relaxation.

Your continued support will greatly contribute to our efforts to provide our youth, interns and volunteers, with an understanding of nature. It will provide the seed, tools, and trees necessary to maintain and enhance our land and water resources.

Together, we will share in protection of our open spaces and wildlife habitat that is so important. Please continue your support.

Please visit one of our preserves to hike the trails, explore the woods, or just take a break from our hectic world to discover nature’s beauty. These outdoor places are a legacy that we leave to our children. 

Your gift or pledge will help preserve the remaining open spaces in Ozaukee and Washington Counties.

Your financial support is deeply appreciated. Please visit to make your donation.

Together, we can make a difference!


Tom Stolp

Executive Director

Add a comment

E-News Sign up